Cars are essential to our everyday lives. We’ve built entire cities around cars. We use them to get to school, work, entertainment—but they can be extremely dangerous if we aren’t careful. Accidents happen every day. However, these accidents can take a turn for the worse when a person commits a hit-and-run. When that happens, you might get stuck with injuries and medical expenses because of someone else’s negligence. If you become a victim, you need help from our professionals. Discover what The Law Offices of Ossie Brown can do for you!
When it comes to hit-and-runs, we’re unfortunately going backward in change as a nation. As of right now, you should be aware of these facts from AAA:
- More than one hit-and-run occurs every minute.
- An average of 682,000 hit-and-run crashes occurred each year since 2006.
- Hit-and-run deaths in the United States have increased an average of 7.2 percent each year since 2009.
- Nearly 65 percent of people killed in hit-and-run crashes were pedestrians or bicyclists.
- Per capita, New Mexico, Louisiana, and Florida have the highest rate of fatal hit-and-run crashes.
As one of the few states with one of the highest rates of fatality in hit-and-run crashes, we need to be prepared for the possibility of an accident.
Looking specifically at Louisiana, fatalities in 2019 slightly decreased. However, injuries and property damage have stayed about the same. This also shows us that hit-and-runs can have minor damages but can also cause major, devastating changes in your life. Be prepared for both and have the right attorneys on your side when you choose The Law Offices of Ossie Brown to help you.
These laws can be complicated and might work against you if you aren’t aware of your rights. In Louisiana, the hit-and-run law is “the intentional failure of the driver of a vehicle involved in or causing any accident, to stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident, to give his identity, and to render reasonable aid.” Depending on certain aspects, this could either be a misdemeanor or a felony.
For it to be a misdemeanor, there must be no death or serious bodily injury. Whoever commits this crime shall not be fined more than five hundred dollars, imprisoned not less than ten days but no more than six months, or both when all of these conditions are met:
- Evidence that the driver consumed alcohol or used drugs prior to the accident.
- This substance contributed to the accident.
- The driver failed to stop, give his identity, or render aid with the knowledge that his actions could affect an actual or potential present, past, or future criminal investigation or proceeding.
On the other hand, a hit-and-run is a felony charge when serious injury or death is a direct result of the accident and when the driver knows or should have known that death or serious bodily injury has occurred. In these cases, the driver shall not be fined more than five thousand dollars or imprisoned with or without hard labor for more than ten years, or both. If all of the following conditions are met, the driver shall be imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not less than five years nor more than twenty years.
- Death or serious bodily injury is a direct result of the accident.
- The driver knew or must have known that the vehicle he was operating was involved in an accident or that his operation of the vehicle was the direct cause of an accident.
- The driver had been previously convicted of a violation of R.S. 14:98, R.S. 14:32.1, R.S. 14:39.1, or R.S. 14:39.2
No matter how intense your hit-and-run accident was, we’re here to help you. Discover what we can do for you at The Law Offices of Ossie Brown and discuss your case with one of our professionals today.