Traffic Tickets & Offenses

Baton Rouge Traffic Ticket Lawyer

Almost all of us have received at least one speeding ticket in our lifetimes. It’s usually always expensive and it’s usually always a hassle, especially if the ticket requires a court appearance. Sometimes Louisiana traffic tickets are completely warranted, and sometimes you receive an outrageous ticket and fine for no reason, which completely ruins your clean driving record. No matter the traffic ticket case scenario, it’s important to have a Baton Rouge traffic ticket lawyer on your side.

Our Baton Rouge, LA legal team has decades of combined traffic ticket defense experience. If you need help getting justice for your speeding ticket (or any other type of traffic ticket), call us today at 225-343-1111 for a free consultation.

baton rouge traffic ticket lawyer

What are Moving Violations?

Moving violations are types of traffic offenses that occur while the car is in motion. Examples include speeding, running stop signs, texting and driving, drunk driving, and more. Most moving violations in Louisiana are considered misdemeanors.

What are Non-Moving Violations?

The main difference between a moving violation and a non-moving violation is where these offenses are reported. In Louisiana, moving violations are reported to the Department of Licensing and non-moving violations are not.

Even though the name suggests that non-moving violations occur when the car isn’t moving, this isn’t always the case. These types of violations can include parking issues, faulty car equipment, failure to use a seat belt, talking on the phone while driving, and more.

Does Louisiana Have a Point System for Traffic Offenses?

No, Louisiana does not use a point system for traffic citations. Instead, our state uses a “Problem Driver Pointer System” (PDPS). This system is part of the National Driver Register (NDR), which means if you have a history of one or more traffic violations, other states will see it on your driving record if you move or travel. The PDPS keeps track of the following information:

  • Your name, date of birth, and gender
  • Your Louisiana driver’s license number
  • List of suspensions and revocations
  • Past cancellations
  • All traffic offenses

While the PDPS won’t really affect you in Louisiana, it could cause trouble if you move to another state that uses a generic point system. For example, if you have a whole list of traffic offenses on your record, you could lose your driving privileges in another state. Additionally, you could have higher auto insurance rates.

Common Traffic Violations and Their Penalties in Louisiana

Below, our Baton Rouge traffic ticket lawyers discuss the most common traffic violations and what kind of penalties you can expect in Louisiana. If you receive a ticket for any of these offenses, call the Law Offices of Ossie Brown and we’ll help you take care of it.

Possibly the most common traffic violation out there is speeding. We’ve all been there: speeding because we’re late for work, late for a doctor’s appointment, late to pick up the kids from school, you name it. Still, speeding tickets can be incredibly expensive in Louisiana. Here’s a quick break down:

  • If you drive 1 to 9MPH over the speed limit, you could have to pay a minimum fine of $115.
  • If you drive 10 to 14MPH over the speed limit, you could have to pay a minimum fine of $215.
  • If you drive 15 to 20MPH over the speed limit, you could have to pay a minimum fine of $240.
  • If you drive more than 21MPH over the speed limit, you could have to pay a fine of $240 or more and show up in traffic court.

If you’re caught speeding and not wearing a seatbelt, you can expect an extra $25 to be tacked onto your fine. Speeding ticket cases are generally considered misdemeanors.

If you’re over the age of 21 and you’re caught driving with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%, you could receive a DUI charge on your record. If you’re under the age of 21, the legal BAC limit in Louisiana is 0.02%. Finally, if you’re a commercial driver, the legal BAC limit in Louisiana is 0.04%.

Even though the first two DUI offenses are considered misdemeanors under Louisiana law, you could still face harsh penalties. Listed below are the penalties for the first DUI offense:

  • Up to two years of probation.
  • 10 days to 6 months in jail.
  • A fine of $300 to $1,000.
  • 48 hours in jail or 32 hours of community service.
  • Participation in a court-approved substance abuse program and a court-approved driver improvement program.

If you’re caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol again, you could face these penalties:

  • A fine ranging from $750 to $1,000.
  • 30 days to 6 months in jail.
  • 240 hours of community service.
  • Up to 6 months probation and 48 hours spent in jail.
  • Participation in a court-approved substance abuse program and a court-approved driver improvement program.
  • Some judges order you to have an ignition interlock device, in order to continue your driving privileges. This device measures your breath to see how much alcohol may be in your system before you are allowed to drive your car.

Third and subsequent DUI offenses are considered felonies under Louisiana law. Listed below are the possible penalties for a third offense.

  • A $2,000 fine.
  • 1 to 5 years behind bars.
  • 240 hours of community service.
  • Up to 5 years of probation. One year must be spent in jail, along with community service and re-education programs.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and substance abuse treatment.
  • The prosecutor may seize the offender’s vehicle.
  • Some judges order you to have an ignition interlock device.
  • Probation for the full length of any suspended sentence plus home incarceration for a minimum of 6 months.

Finally, these are the possible penalties if you’re charged with a fourth or subsequent DUI in Louisiana:

  • Fine up to $5,000.
  • 10 to 30 years behind bars. Two of these years are without the benefit of suspension.
  • 5 years of probation.
  • 320 hours of community service.
  • Home incarceration for at least one year.
  • Vehicle seizure.
  • Requirement to undergo a substance abuse evaluation.
  • An order to comply with substance abuse treatment for four weeks inpatient and 12 months outpatient.

A hit and run accident occurs when someone hits another driver, and then immediately leaves the scene. If you commit a hit and run accident in Louisiana, you could receive felony charges and penalties. These felony charges and penalties may be enhanced if you seriously injure or kill someone in a hit and run accident, or if you committed the accident while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Here’s the break down:

  • If you’re under the influence of drugs and alcohol and you commit a hit and run that results in no serious bodily injury or death, you could face a minimum fine of $500 and 10 days to 6 months behind bars.
  • If you commit a hit and run that results in serious bodily injury or death, you could face a $5,000 fine and/or 10 years in jail.

Distracted driving could mean: texting and driving, using social media and driving, eating and driving, or any activity that requires you to take your eyes off the road or multi-task while driving. The most common type of distracted driving these days is texting and driving, which is illegal according to Louisiana law (RS 32:300.5).

  • The first texting and driving violation is punishable by a fine of $500.
  • Second and subsequent texting and driving violations are punishable by a fine of $1,000. Offenders may also have their license suspended for up to 60 days.
  • If texting and driving causes you to get into a car accident, fines will be doubled.

If you’re caught driving without a drivers license or with an expired or suspended license, you could receive a misdemeanor charge. Generally, offenders receive a $119 fine each time they’re caught with a driver’s license violation.

Running a stop sign or a red light is another misdemeanor traffic violation in Louisiana. Fines for this type of traffic violation will generally vary parish to parish, but you could expect to pay a $150 to $225 fine.

 

If you cause someone to suffer a personal injury or death from running a red light or a stop sign, your fines will drastically increase, and you may even face a bit of jail time.

baton rouge traffic ticket attorney

What is a CDL?

A CDL is a commercial driver’s license. People who have these types of licenses generally drive big vehicles like trucks and buses as part of their job.

Committing a traffic violation with a CDL can result in much higher charges in penalties in Louisiana. In most cases, people with a CDL must report their traffic violation to their employers within 30 days. On top of expensive fines and jail time, people with this type of license may also lose their driving privileges and their jobs. If this sounds like your situation, you need top-notch legal representation from a Baton Rouge traffic ticket lawyer at the Law Offices of Ossie Brown.

What Should I Do if I Get a Traffic Ticket in Louisiana?

If you receive a speeding ticket, or any other type of ticket, these are your options:

  • Pay the fine, which basically means that you’re admitting guilt.
  • Request a mitigation hearing, which may result in a fine reduction, a monthly payment plan, or community service.
  • Request a contested hearing, which basically means that you’re pleading “not guilty” to the traffic violation.

If you plan on requesting a mitigation hearing or a contested hearing, you need legal representation from Baton Rouge traffic ticket lawyers. We can examine the details of your ticket, help you request these hearings, defend your rights on your traffic court date, and possibly help you receive reduced charges and fines.

Will a Traffic Ticket Increase My Insurance Rates?

The answer to this question heavily depends on the type of traffic violation you commit. But yes, it’s very common to see increased insurance premiums after getting speeding tickets or any other traffic tickets.

baton rouge traffic ticket lawyers

Call a Baton Rouge Traffic Ticket Lawyer at the Law Offices of Ossie Brown Today

If you’re facing major consequences after receiving a Louisiana traffic ticket, you need a Baton Rouge traffic ticket lawyer on your side. Traffic ticket lawyers at the Law Offices of Ossie Brown have been helping motorists keep their driving record clean for years. We can do the same for you.

Not only can we help you receive the best case outcome for Louisiana traffic tickets, but we can also help you receive the best case outcome in another legal issue as well, such as drug offenses, white collar crimes, and so much more. Call our top-notch criminal defense team at 225-343-1111 to start an attorney client relationship today. We offer a free consultation to all new clients.

Free Consultation

Let us review your case at no cost to you. We want to take the time to get to know you and understand your legal goals and objectives.

Why Our Clients Trust Us

5/5

Your Law Firm for a Lifetime.

The attorneys at The Law Offices of Ossie Brown are skilled in several practice areas and ready to discuss your case. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.